Home / Lifestyle / 7 provinces under signal no. 2, as 'Urduja' approaches Samar

7 provinces under signal no. 2, as 'Urduja' approaches Samar

Satellite image of tropical storm “Urduja.” Photo courtesy of PAGASA

MANILA  Tropical storm Urduja has slightly intensified and is now moving closer toward Samar island, state weather bureau PAGASA said Saturday morning.

In its 5 a.m. bulletin, PAGASA also warned residents of Bicol, the Visayas, southern Quezon, Mindoro, Marinduque and Romblon of flooding and landslides.

Urduja was last located at 180 kilometers eastnortheast of Borongan City, Eastern Samar. It has maximum sustained winds of 80 kilometers per hour and gusts of up to 95 kph.

The following tropical cyclone warning signals have been raised in these areas:


  • Biliran
  • Eastern Samar
  • Leyte
  • Masbate, including Burias and Ticao Islands
  • Northern Samar
  • Samar
  • Sorsogon


  • Aklan
  • Albay
  • Antique
  • Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur
  • Capiz
  • Catanduanes
  • Cebu
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Guimaras
  • Iloilo
  • Marinduque
  • Negros Occidental
  • Northern Bohol
  • Northern Negros Oriental
  • Romblon
  • Sorsogon
  • Southern Leyte
  • Southern Quezon

PAGASA said tropical cyclone warning signal no. 1 may possibly be raised over Mindoro and Cuyo Islands within six hours.

Sea travel remains risky over the seaboards of areas under tropical cyclone warning signal.

PAGASA said Urduja is expected to make landfall over Northern Samar to Eastern Samar Saturday.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *