Home / Sports / Red Bull Reign makes PH return in June

Red Bull Reign makes PH return in June

The Bull Squad ruled the inaugural edition of the Red Bull Reign in Manila. Handout photo

MANILA, Philippines – Red Bull's signature basketball tournament, Red Bull Reign, is set to return to the Philippines in June after making its official debut last year.

Red Bull Reign is a high-endurance, offense-driven 3×3 tournament that invites some of the best players in the world to battle for a chance to compete at the World Finals in Washington DC.

It is the only open international 3×3 basketball tournament in the world, and its rules are simple: the team that scores the most overall points in each round will advance, until only one team remains.

When Red Bull Reign was first played in the Philippines last year, eight teams squared off in the finals at the Nagtahan Bridge Court in Manila. A series of exciting, back-to-back round robin matches took place on May 27, 2017, showcasing various styles on the street court.

Qualifying teams included Team Santa Rosa, the Bull Squad, Balandra Squad, and G3 Apparel, which included former Red Bull King of the Rock and PBA icon Willie Miller.

The Bull Squad went on to win the event after beating Team Santa Rosa in the finals, 27-20. The team was composed of Filipino-Canadian PBA hopefuls Clay Crellin and Glenn Gravengard, Kitt Paolo Balmori, and team captain Obinna Ezeike.

Their victory earned them the right to represent the Philippines in last year's World Finals.

"We were hungry and we wanted it more," Gravengard said at the time.

The tournament also proved to be a success in the local barangay which hosted the inaugural Red Bull Reign. Pre-event activities included a group clean-up of the Pasig River as well as the creation of a youth-oriented mural by Red Bull Doodle Art finalists, Manuel "Meow Meo" Liwanag and Rojan Elmo Barcelon.

The second edition of the Red Bull Reign will be under the supervision of tournament director Vince Hizon and sports consultant Al delos Reyes. 

It is open to players aged 16 and above. Teams must be composed of three players and one reserve; each team must be 50% Filipino. Players are required to have valid passports.

The first Manila qualifier will be held on June 16 at Buendia Food by the Court, followed by another qualifier on June 23 at Taft Food by the Court. The last chance qualifier will be on June 30 at the same Taft venue, with the finals to be held on the same day.

For more information, please visit: http://bit.ly/redbullreignph

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *